Uncategorized

The Worst

Jhene Aiko is not my favorite musician. I like her voice enough to be featured as the hook in my rap music. But musically she doesn’t stand out for me. Lyrically though… damn this girl should have been a beat poet. The sheer vulnerability in the songs feels like every thing I have ever wanted to say interwoven into the rhythmic lingo of inner-city subtext.

“The Worst” is her standout for me. I love every lyric. I feel like she perfectly articulates the range of reactions I have when thinking about particular love interests from my life. Incredulous to angry to ambivalent to in pain to pathetic. It flows with the punctuation of a heated argument with her man, with herself.

Stand out lyrics:

And don’t take this personal
But you ain’t shit
And you weren’t special
Til I made you so
You better act like you know
That I’ve been through worse than you

I shoulda figured though
All that shit you was spittin’
So unoriginal
But it was you
So I was with it

I think your pride is just
In the way
Funny how everything changed
Once you got all that you wanted
Nothing was ever the same

I don’t need you
But I want you
I don’t mean to
But I love you

Don’t watch the music video. The requisite sexuality for R&B videos these days interferes with the performance. Just listen and emote.

Standard

One thought on “The Worst

Leave a Reply

