Uncategorized

Snapshots of a Relationship #3

“But you’re the one who let go!” you yelled in confusion and anger. “You broke up with me!”

“I was wrong!” I yelled back matching your vigor and emotion. “I’m sorry but I was wrong. I realize that now and I know it is a little late but I needed you to know. I was wrong.”

You fell silent and looked away from my vulnerable eyes. For the first time in a long time, I had told the truth. It was almost too much for me to bear.

Then looking back up at me, with eyes filled with a mixture of sorrow and seriousness you said,

“Its too late for second chances. The past is the past. What happened between us, whether you meant it or not, happened. There is no going back. I wont let myself go back. I cant pretend like if I did it would be okay. You have to leave. You have to move on. You have to move on from the past whether the future is something you like or not. Cait, we’re done.”

And you walked away from me. Leaving me standing here, feeling this way. Hurt, angry and broken, more so than I have ever been in my life. I didn’t think of a rebuttal or a new scheme to make you change your mind. I couldn’t do much else other than breathe and stay standing.

Standard

One thought on “Snapshots of a Relationship #3

Leave a Reply

